automatorTo quit all open applications on a Mac, you can close each application one at a time. But there’s an easier way.  You can create a workflow in Automator that quits all of your running (open) applications with one click.

You don’t need any programming background.  Here’s how it’s done:

Open “Automator” (found in Applications)
Choose “Application”

Automator choose application

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Type “Quit All Applications” in the search box.
  2. Drag and drop the “Quit All Applications” icon to the right window
  3. Click Run in the upper right hand corner

create workflow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Save the workflow to your desktop. Name it  “Quit Everything”.  An icon will be created.  Drag the "Quit Everything" icon to your dock.

When you want to quit all applications, click once on the Finder, then on the Quit Everything icon in your dock.
If you forget to click on the Finder, the most recent application will stay open.

Many people liked the classic look of the compose window in Gmail.

old compose optionsIf you prefer the that look, there is a Chrome extension called Old Compose that you can install to restore the classic look in GMail.

Once you install the extension, the Old Compose icon will be found in the upper righthand corner of the browser window.  Clicking on the icon (circled in red) allows you to toggle between the two different classic versions: Classic Compose or Improved Compose:

old compose views

As with every Chrome extension, you can always disable it or delete it.

Check out other Chrome extensions in the Chrome Webstore.

avery_label_merge_addonThe Avery Label Merge add-on is great for creating labels right in Google Docs.  You can seamlessly import addresses or names from Google Spreadsheets into Docs for printing. Just pick the type of Avery labels you’ll be printing and your document will be formatted to match the layout of your labels.

Here's how it works:
(If you cannot see the video below, log into http://filter.jordandistrict.org)

To manage Google add-ons,  go to

 

screencastomaticScreencast-O-Matic is a free screen recorder for instant screen capture and sharing. Use it right in your browser without an install at Screencast-O-Matic.com or download the application to run anytime.

Create a tutorial or record a lesson on a Mac or PC with just a couple of clicks.

Watch the Screencast-o-matic video to learn how it works.
(If you cannot see the video below, log into http://filter.jordandistrict.org)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-FHDEmOFPo&list=UUhZ6Yt-BWSJbUwBYwC4J9eA

edmodoIf you are interested in using Edmodo in your classroom, the following directions will help you set up your account so that it will be associated with the Jordan District Edmodo domain.   During account setup, you will be prompted to enter a school code.

EDMODO SCHOOL CODES
To receive your school's code, contact your elementary school principal or send request for a code to the Jordan District Edmodo admins at: curriculumtechnology@jordandistrict.org.

TO CREATE AN EDMODO ACCOUNT

  • Go to jordandistrict.edmodo.com
  • Sign up as a Teacher
  • You will be prompted to enter 6-digit school code.
  • Enter your name, email and password.
  • Click Sign Up

IF YOU HAVE AN EDMODO ACCOUNT AND HAVE CHANGED SCHOOLS

  • Log into Edmodo at jordandistrict.edmodo.com
  • Click on Settings
  • Click Change School and search for your school.
  • Logout of Edmodo, and then login again through jordandistrict.edmodo.com.
  • You will be prompted to enter your school code to be re-associated with the district domain.
  • Enter the 6-digit code for your school.

EDMODO SUPPORT

 

iPads resetIf you are leaving the district or being transferred, you will need to reset your iPad to factory settings before turning it into your administrator.

Apple has implemented some security features that make it impossible to restore an iPad that is attached to an iCloud account.  Therefore, if your iPad is associated with an iCloud account, you will want to use the attached directions on how to backup you data as well as restore it on another iPad.

Whether or not you use iCloud, you must reset your iPad to factory settings.  To do so:

  • Tap Settings > General > Reset.
  • Choose Erase All Content and Settings
  • You may be prompted to enter your Apple ID password.
  • You may be prompted to tap Erase once again.
  • http://support.apple.com/kb/ht2110

The following document includes instructions and screen shots on how to erase all content and settings on an iPad.